//
you're reading...
mysql conference

Speaking at Percona Live MySQL conference

Suitcase packed? Check!
Laptop? Check!
Presentation? Check!
I’m ready for my departure to San Francisco tomorrow morning!

I already mentioned before that I will be a speaker at the MySQL conference, but I think the session has moved since. It is now scheduled Thursday between 1:00 and 1:50 in ballrooom E. Be there if you want to know more about what Spil Games is doing!

I also determined what the most interesting talks are going to be for me and here are some of the highlights:
One to Many: The Story of Sharding at Box (Wed 1:00 – 1:50pm)
Sounds very interesting to see how different their story is from the one at Spil Games.

The Etsy Shard Architecture: Starts with S and Ends With Hard (Wed 2:00 – 2:50)
Same as above but then with the difference that, from the description, it seems they are implementing almost the same solution as we are. :D

Scripting MySQL with Lua and libdrizzle inside Nginx (Wed 3:30 – 16:20)
Very interesting thought of combining Nginx with Lua and a database connection through Libdrizzle. It seems you can easily implement lightweight services this way. So definitely a reccomended session!

Percona XtraDB Cluster: New HA solution (Thu 11:00 – 11:50)
Percona XtraDB Cluster came to me as a complete surprise earlier this year. I’ve been playing around with it a little bit and now that it has gone GA last week I’m even more anxious to attend this session. I think it could be a good candidate to become one of the building blocks for Spil Games in the future.

Common Schema: a framework for MySQL server administration (Thu 2:00 – 2:50)
I haven’t done much with Common Schema so far and it is already available on our platform so I think it would be a good idea to attend this session and get more practical insights.

So I’m off to SF in about 19 hours. If you are also attending the conference: see you there!

About Art van Scheppingen

Head of Database Engineering at Spil Games

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Speaking at Percona Live MySQL conference

  1. what did you think of the Box talk on sharding?

    Posted by Josh | April 15, 2012, 9:15 pm
    • Unfortunately I did not make it to the talk. Me and my colleague had to make a choice between several talks which we both wanted to attend. He ended up going to the Box talk while I went to the Replaying database load with Percona Playback talk at the same time.

      Posted by Art van Scheppingen | April 16, 2012, 2:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 427 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 427 other followers

